- City Services
- Development Services
- Housing Programs and Resources
- Tenants and Landlords Resources
Tenants and Landlords Resources
Legal Services of Northern California provides legal assistance pertaining to evictions and other housing concerns. The office is located at 190 Reamer St. Auburn, CA. Telephone number is (800) 660-6107.
A Guide To Residential Tenants' and Landlords' Rights and Responsibilities
Download a printable copy of the guide in English (PDF) or Spanish (PDF)
The Tenant Protection Act of 2019
The California Apartment Association is an organization that provides access to information, education and advocacy.
California Apartment Association Renting Best Practices Guide in English or Spanish
Superior Court of California County of El Dorado Civil Division processes all civil matters including unlawful detainer cases. The office is located at 1354 Johnson Blvd. South Lake Tahoe, CA. Telephone number (530) 573-3075.
Visit the California Courts Self-Help Guide to learn more about evictions and housing.
California Courts Self-Help locate court forms here
For Mobile Home Parks inspections and concerns please call (530) 206-6231 or e-mail David Osfeld, Mobilehome Parks Inspector.
The California Department of Housing and Community Development Mobilehome Residency Law Protection Program frequently asked questions in English or Spanish
State and Local COVID-19 Residential Eviction Moratorium
Under the City’s moratorium, beginning on September 30, 2020, a landlord may request unpaid rent that was due between March 19, 2020 and September 30, 2020. The tenant has 60 days to pay the rent due; however, the state legislature enacted the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act (AB 3088), which was signed by the Governor and took effect on August 31, 2020 and was amended by SB91 on January 28, 2021, and by AB 832 on June 28, 2021. The COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act, as amended, protects certain tenants suffering financial distress from COVID-19 from eviction for nonpayment of rent due between March 1, 2020, and September 30, 2021. Local eviction moratoria that were already in place, like the City of South Lake Tahoe’s Amended Emergency Order No. 3, are preserved. The state and local moratoria work together to protect tenants who are unable to pay rent due to COVID-19. Key points from the state and city residential eviction moratorium are:
- To obtain eviction protection under the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act, the tenant must respond to the landlord’s notice to pay rent with a declaration that the tenant must sign under penalty of perjury and return to the landlord within 15 days. No financial verification is required unless the landlord has proof that the tenant earns at least $100,000 or more than 130 percent of the county median income annually.
- If the tenant provides the required declaration, then prior to October 1, 2021, a landlord cannot evict a tenant for non-payment of the full amount of rent that was due between March 1, 2020, and September 30, 2020. A landlord can evict a tenant only if they had violated the lease prior to March 1, 2020.
- If the tenant provides the required declaration, then prior to October 1, 2021, a landlord cannot evict a tenant for non-payment of a portion of the amount of rent that was due between October 1, 2020, and September 30, 2021. A tenant must pay 25 percent of the rent due between October 1, 2020 through September 30, 2021 to take advantage of this protection. This rent payment may be made up to September 30, 2021. Financial assistance is available from the State’s Emergency Rental Assistance Program to cover these rent payments.
- A landlord cannot get an unlawful detainer order from a court prior to October 1, 2021, if the tenant has provided the required declaration of financial distress due to COVID-19.
- Landlords can initiate eviction actions beginning on October 5, 2020, for tenants who fail to return the required declaration in response to a notice to pay rent.
- A landlord may still evict a tenant for reasons besides non-payment of rent due to financial distress from COVID-19. Neither the local or state eviction moratorium forgives unpaid rent, which a landlord may seek through small claims court after November 1, 2021.